About us



2015 Educational Writers Award: A Whole of Wonders

Atlas of Adventures,  illustrated by Lucy Letherland and written by Rachel Williams, wins UK’s sole award for educational writing.

The result of this year’s Award – the UK’s only award for educational writing - was announced Tuesday 2 December 2015 by Ed Vaizey MP, Minister of State for Culture and the Digital Economy, at the All Party Parliamentary Writers Group (APWG) Winter Reception at the House of Commons.

Atlas-of-Adventures-Front-cover-resized.jpgAtlas of Adventures, published by Wide Eyed Editions, is a treasury of natural wonders, exciting experiences and festivities from around the globe. It follows two children, a girl and a boy, as they travel to over 30 destinations across seven continents – including the London Eye, the Moscow Metro, the Grand Canyon, Northern Patagonia, the Dead Sea, the Zambezi River and the Great Barrier Reef - and discover hundreds of things to look at, and dozens of facts to learn on every page.

This year’s judges – school librarian Caroline Gosden, headteacher Michael Schumm and author Cath Senker - were unanimous in their praise for the winning title:

“This is a beautifully designed, durable and hugely informative book, packed full of vibrant colour, and fascinating information and activities from countries around the world. Offering an experience not found on the internet, its roller coaster ride of a journey will encourage children across the primary school age groups to find out more about the world we live in.”

Presenting the winning authors with a cheque for £2000, Ed Vaizey MP commented:

“Great writing encourages children to pick up a book and can inspire a life-long appetite for reading. All of the winners and shortlisted authors should be proud of their outstanding work and role they play to educate and encourage the readers and writers of tomorrow.”
The 2015 Educational Writers’ Award focuses on books for 5-11 year olds, published in 2013 and 2014. Atlas of Adventures beat off strong competition from the four other titles shortlisted for this year’s award. They were: Who Eats Who?, written by Teresa Heapy and illustrated by Rebecca Elliott (Oxford University Press); Marvellous Maths, written by Jonathan Litton and illustrated by Thomas Flintham (Templar); Dear Jelly: Family Letters From the First World War, written by Sarah Ridley (Franklin Watts); and Space Record Breakers, written by Anne Rooney (Carlton Kids).

The Educational Writers’ Award was established in 2008 by the Authors’ Licensing & Collecting Society (ALCS) and the Society of Authors to celebrate educational writing that inspires creativity and encourages students to read widely and to build up their understanding of a subject beyond the requirements of exam specifications.

See more about the shortlist.


Back to news page