The Crime Writers’ Association (CWA) reveals the winners of its annual Dagger Awards, part-sponsored by ALCS.

The 2018 Dagger Awards were presented at a ceremony at the Grange City Hotel in London last month. The event was attended by shortlisted authors, publishers and guests from the book industry. ALCS was delighted to support and attend the evening, and congratulates all the winners.

Diamond Dagger: awarded for a writer’s outstanding contribution to crime fiction and nominated by CWA members.

Michael Connelly

CWA Gold Dagger: awarded for the best crime novel of the year.

Steve Cavanagh – The Liar (Orion)

Ian Fleming Steel Dagger: awarded for a thriller set in any period.

Attica Locke – Bluebird, Bluebird (Serpent’s Tail)

John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger: awarded for the best crime novel by a first-time author.

Melissa Scrivner Love – Lola (Point Blank)

CWA ALCS Gold Dagger for Non-Fiction: awarded for a non-fiction work on a crime-related theme.

Thomas Harding – Blood on the Page (Heinemann)

CWA Historical Dagger: awarded for the best historical crime novel.

Rory Clements – Nucleus (Zaffre Publishing)

CWA Short Story Dagger: awarded for a crime short story.

Denise Mina – Nemo Me Impune Lacessit, Bloody Scotland (Historic Environment Scotland)

International Dagger: awarded for a crime novel that has been translated into English.

Henning Mankell – After the Fire – tr. Marlaine Delargy (Harvill Secker)

CWA Debut Dagger: awarded to a writer who has not yet been published commercially.

Winner: Bill Crotty – The Eternal Life of Ezra Ben Simeon

Highly Commended: Joseph James – Riverine Blood

CWA Dagger in the Library: awarded to an author for a body of work that has been popular with borrowers from libraries.

Martin Edwards

About the Crime Writers’ Association

The Crime Writers’ Association (CWA) was established in 1953 by crime writer John Creasey. The Dagger Awards began with what was originally known as the Crossed Red Herring Award in 1955, and have grown from there, attracting sponsors such as Ian Fleming Publications and ALCS. The ten Daggers are awarded every year, and with the exception of the Diamond Dagger, Debut Dagger and the Dagger in the Library, authors’ books are nominated by their publishers.