BBC Audio Drama Awards open for nominations

Entries are now open for two BBC Audio Drama Awards for scriptwriting, run annually, administered by the Society of Authors and sponsored by ALCS.

The Imison Award for the best original script by a writer new to audio drama is also sponsored by the Peggy Ramsay Foundation, with this being the first year ALCS is sponsoring the award. Last year’s winner was Fraser Ayres for his radio play Maynard (produced by Mel Harris – Sparklab Productions, BBC Radio 4). The 2022 judges are committee members of the Society of Authors Scriptwriters Group: Barney Norris, Jamila Gavin, David Morley, Ian Billings, Sean Grundy, Rhiannon Tise and Ben Carpenter.

The Tinniswood Award for the best original script of the year. Established by the SoA and the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain, this award honours the memory of Peter Tinniswood, as well as celebrating and encouraging high standards in radio drama. Last year’s winner was Christopher Douglas for Tristram Shandy (Produced by Gary Brown – BBC Radio Drama North, BBC Radio 4). The 2022 judges are yet to be confirmed.

The winners will each receive £3,000.

Entry to both awards is free. Scripts must have been broadcast or made available online in the UK between 1 October 2020 and 31 October 2021.

The awards close for entries on 3 October 2021 and will be awarded alongside all the BBC Audio Drama Awards in 2022.

Enter at Deadline 3 October 2021.