Calling all radio writers: nominations now open for Tinniswood Award 2020

Radio scriptwriters with works broadcast between 1 October 2018 and 31 October 2019 are invited to send in their entries. Nominations for the ALCS-sponsored award are open until 6 October 2019.

Jointly administered by the Society of Authors and the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain, and sponsored by ALCS, the Tinniswood Award is presented for the best original radio script with the winner receiving a £3,000 prize. If you’re interested in entering, the application form and entry details can be found here.

For more information on the terms and conditions, visit the Society of Authors here.

At the last BBC Radio Drama Awards, we were delighted to see Oliver Emanuel win for When the Pips Stop (produced by Kirsty Williams, BBC Glasgow). You can read Oliver’s interview for our My Writing Living series here, in which he speaks about winning last year’s award as well as giving advice to budding playwrights.

Shortlisted for the 2019 award alongside Oliver Emanuel were Vivienne Harvey for Playing Dead (produced by Nadia Molinari) and Martyn Wade for Holbein’s Skull (produced by Tracey Neale).

ALCS is currently holding around £112,000 in unclaimed royalties for radio writers – if you know someone who’s not an ALCS Member, let them know that they should join us!