Celebrating emerging film talent at the Film the House winners’ ceremony

Film the House, sponsored by ALCS, is a film competition run in collaboration with Parliament and aimed at finding the filmmakers and scriptwriters of tomorrow.

The winners of the Film the House competition were announced at a joyous ceremony at the House of Lords, well-attended by MPs, Lords and leading figures in the film industry.

Film the House is also an opportunity to highlight the critical importance of intellectual property rights to parliamentarians, creators and the wider public. This year’s competition was sponsored by Lord Clement-Jones, Ellie Reeves MP and Giles Watling MP.

Each year, up-and-coming filmmakers and scriptwriters from across the country submit their entries to their local Member of Parliament. This year’s categories included Best Script (Under and Over 19), Best Short Film (Under and Over 19) and Directors UK Best Film Direction. The finalists were selected by a panel of leading figures from across Britain’s creative industries.

Congratulations to the winners of this year’s Film the House competition:

Best Film Script – Under 19

Miguel Mellinger – Lye

What the judges said:

“A story packed with ideas and emotion, driven by ambitious visuals and surprising twists. Characters leap from the page, pushing towards a dramatic and satisfying climax.”


Best Film Script – Over 19

Laurie BarracloughKnaves

What the judges said:

“A taut, tense thriller that carries a powerful subtext about the fragmentation of society and the environment. Written with confidence and empathy, this script had us gripped from start to finish.”


Directors UK Best Film Direction

Stephen GallacherHarold and Mary

What the judges said:

Harold and Mary is pitch perfect – a moving and intimate film from an accomplished director. Stephen drew stellar performances from the actors and delivered a film that explored complex family dynamics in a surprising and inventive way.”


Best Short Film – Under 19

Miro Alleyne-McCarthySlay the Beast from a State of Peace

What the judges said:

“Original and thought-provoking, with innovative visuals and an atmospheric soundtrack, Slay the Beast from a State of Peace is an immersive and memorable film.”


Best Short Film – Over 19

Luke BradfordGrace

What the judges said:

Grace is an intimately filmed portrait of hope and acceptance, which humbles the viewer with its inspiring, hopeful and truly life-affirming spirit.”


Lord Timothy Clement-Jones said:

“Intellectual property (IP) is a vital way of making sure that creators are properly rewarded for the artistic works they produce. This is as true for film and other visual media as it is for books, fashion or music.

Film the House is designed to highlight the importance we place in parliament on IP and on good IP protections and enforcement. We hope that for their part, creators will respond by taking part in future Film the House competitions and demonstrate the huge audiovisual talent we have in this country.”

Ellie Reeves MP said:

“I am delighted to co-sponsor this event celebrating the work of UK creators. It’s a brilliant way to recognise young talent and help promote the filmmakers of the future, whilst also raising awareness of the importance of intellectual property rights.”

Giles Watling MP said:

“I am delighted to once again sponsor Film the House, as Chair of the All Party Writers Group. Writers are the lifeblood of the UK’s creative industries, but their contributions depend on the protection of intellectual property rights and I hope that these awards will help get the message across.”

Film the House is proudly sponsored by ALCS, The Walt Disney Company, Directors UK, the Motion Picture Association, Paramount, Netflix, Prime Video and Warner Bros. Discovery.

You can learn more about the Film the House competition, and previous winners here.