Longlist announced for V.S. Pritchett Award 2024

The V.S. Pritchett Short Story Prize is an annual award for unpublished short stories between 2,000 to 4,000 words in length.

The V.S. Pritchett Short Story Prize was founded by the RSL in 1999 to commemorate the centenary of the renowned 20th century author. Previous winners have included Kaliane Bradley, Leoor Ohayon, Emily Ruth Ford, Jonathan Tel, Martina Devlin and Carys Davies.

ALCS has supported the prize for over a decade but we’re delighted that for the first time, the 2024 winner will be announced as part of the ALCS Annual Awards on 22 February. The winner will receive £1,000 and their entry will be published in Prospect magazine online and the RSL Review.

Stories are judged anonymously by a panel of writers. This year’s judges are Julia Armfield, Fred D’Aguiar and Juliet Jacques.

The longlist

Michael Byrne – ‘Twéo-mann’
Stuart Evers – ‘Martinez’
Sarah Featherstone – ‘DUST’
Gilli Fryzer – ‘OFF LIZARD POINT’
Dave Lewis – ‘Pachyderm Hiraeth’
Kate Lockwood Jefford – ‘A Family Gathering’
Gráinne Murphy – ‘What Can You Say’
Alessandra Panizza – ‘A Gimmick’
Hannah Persaud – ‘Playing Badminton with Plums’
Han Smith – ‘aftermorph’
Sharma Taylor – ‘The three deaths of Nina Carmichael’
Tom Vowler – ‘Voyagers’
Andrew Wilson – ‘Woelinam’