Oliver Emanuel wins 2019 Tinniswood Award

This year’s ALCS-sponsored Tinniswood Award winner was announced at the BBC Audio Drama Awards by Sarah Woods; audio-dramatist, playwright and screenwriter who won the 2018 Award.

Winner: When The Pips Stop by Oliver Emanuel

Produced by Kirsty Williams, BBC Glasgow, 44’, BBC Radio 4

The judges said: “This beautifully written and highly original play explores what happens when two sisters who live together on a remote Scottish island, and haven’t spoken for years, find themselves to be – possibly – the only survivors of the end of the world.

“Every part of this play is technically assured and fully realised. It creates an experience that is both extraordinary and utterly recognisable, enabling us to reflect on the current state of the world through a domestic, intimate story.

“The characters are compelling and believable in a drama rich with subtext and metaphor. The sparse and finely worked language is beautifully poetic and deeply human. Its use of the form is inspiring.”

Oliver Emanuel is an internationally award-winning playwright who has written over 40 plays for stage and radio. Flightwon a Herald Angel at the Edinburgh International Festival 2017; his version of Jan Sobrie’s Titus won The People’s Choice Victor Award at IPAY 2015; while Dragon won Best Show for Children and Young People at the UK Theatre Awards in 2014. He was a lead writer on Blood, Sex and Money by Emile Zola, which won Best Adaptation at the BBC Audio Drama Awards 2017. He is a Reader in Playwriting, University of St Andrews, an Associate Playwright, Playwrights’ Studio Scotland, and Writer in Residence at Gladstone’s Library.

Also on this year’s Tinniswood shortlist were Vivienne Harvey for Playing Dead and Martyn Wade for Holbein’s Skull. Take a look at our report on the shortlist here.

About the Tinniswood Award

The Tinniswood Award was established by the Society of Authors and the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain to celebrate the memory of Peter Tinniswood and encourage high standards in radio drama. Previous winners include Sarah Woods, Morwenna Banks, Mike Bartlett, and Christopher William Hill. ALCS is proud to sponsor an award that helps highlight the excellent work being produced by radio dramatists.

ALCS has paid out around £230,000 to 1,600 radio writers in the last year alone, but is also currently holding around £120,000 worth of secondary royalties for radio writers who are not yet Members. If you know anyone who has contributed to a radio script and is not yet a Member of ALCS, please encourage them to join today – it may be well worth their while.