Parliament rewards bright young British film talent

Earlier this month, the winners of the 2019 Film the House competition were announced at the House of Commons. ALCS is pleased to co-sponsor the competition, which celebrates the best in new British screenwriting and film talent, and aims to highlight the importance of intellectual property (IP) to both MPs and creators.

This year, Film the House received entries for the competition from over 80 constituencies across the UK in a range of categories, including Best Script and Best Short Film, with both Under and Over 16 categories. This year’s competition also saw the addition of the Directors UK award for Best Film Direction for Under 16 and Over 16.

In addition to sponsorship from ALCS, Film the House enjoys widespread support from other industry organisations including Directors UK, Lionsgate, the Motion Picture Association (MPA), Sky, ViacomCBS, the Walt Disney Company and Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc.


The following creators received awards:

Best Film Script Under 16

Freya Hannan-Mills – Swallow (Angela Eagle MP)

Jane Lamacraft, screenwriter and judge, said: “Swallow is a sensitive and authentic piece of writing with rarely seen, clear-eyed honesty. We loved the evocative, poetic language and the writer’s command of different styles. A young writer with an old soul.”

Best Film Script Over 16

Bertil Nilsson – Repair (Meg Hillier MP)

Kay Stonham, screenwriter and judge, said: “Repair is a subtle yet powerful piece of writing that gives us a vivid insight into the way the character experiences the world and forces us to confront how odd and unnatural some of our current habits are.”


Directors UK Best Film Direction Under 16

Morgan O’Connell – Haven (Greg Hands MP)

Directors UK judges said: “Haven has such heart and a desire to communicate something other than what we have already seen. The film has an authorial vision that is passionate, inventive and bold which, accompanied by great framing and highly articulate use of the camera, deftly reveals a state of mind.”

Directors UK Best Film Direction Over 16

Souvid Datta – Gladiators on Wheels (Tulip Siddiq MP)

Directors UK judges said: “Gladiators on Wheels is a beautiful story, inventively told. We were all amazed by this unique film – it is visually stunning, with superb photography and excellent pacing that captures a visceral sense of adventure and exhilaration, but also the very human drama of overcoming fear.”

Highly commended

Julien Cornwall – The Lost Scot

Best Short Film Under 16

Freya Hannan-Mills – Swallow (Angela Eagle MP)

Caroline D’Silva, Motion Picture Association, said: “Swallow is a simple concept, brilliantly executed, that captivates and draws you in emotionally and physically. Skillful cinematography and production design perfectly complement a powerful acting performance and script.”


Best Short Film Over 16

Lanre Malaolu – The Circle (Meg Hillier MP)

Member of the judging panel, Charlotte Tudor, the Walt Disney Company, said: “The Circle is a unique, intelligently shot and thought-provoking short film that combines documentary filming with a fluid and poetic narrative using movement and dance. It is moving and resonates deep to the core, and reminds us of the importance of friendship, community and brotherhood.”


Helen Lederer, writer, comedian and Film the House judge said:

“It was a pleasure to be part of a competition that helps celebrate up-and-coming British film talent. Creative competitions like Film the House are an integral way for new creators to get involved in the industry while at the same time highlighting the importance of IP to MPs and creatives alike. Congratulations to the winners and shortlist of this year’s competition; we hope to see much more of you all in the future!”


Lord Clement-Jones, Film the House sponsor, said:

“Intellectual property (IP) is a vital way of making sure that creators are properly rewarded for the artistic works they produce. This is as true for film and other visual media as it is for books, fashion or music. Film the House is designed to highlight the importance we place in Parliament on IP and on good IP protection and enforcement. We hope that for their part, creators will respond by taking part in future Film the House competitions and demonstrate the huge audiovisual and writing talent that we have in this country.”


Find out more about the competition and the winners at