ALCS is delighted once again to be co-sponsoring the prestigious CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals, the UK’s oldest book awards for children and young people. Read on to find out which books have been shortlisted for this year's awards.

Selected by volunteer youth librarians from longlists of 20 books for each Medal, these shortlisted titles reflect the very best in children’s writing and illustration published in the UK. With books promoting environmentalism, acceptance, kindness and bravery, the Awards’ mission ‘to inspire and empower the next generation to shape a better world through books and reading’ is amply reflected through these shortlists.


2020 CILIP Carnegie Medal shortlist:

The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta, illustrated by Anshika Khullar (Hachette Children’s Group)

Nowhere on Earth by Nick Lake (Hachette Children’s Group)

Lark by Anthony McGowan (Barrington Stoke)

Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay (Little Tiger)

Lampie written and illustrated by Annet Schaap and translated by Laura Watkinson (Pushkin Children’s Books)

Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black by Marcus Sedgwick and Julian Sedgwick, illustrated by Alexis Deacon (Walker Books)

On the Come Up by Angie Thomas (Walker Books)

Girl. Boy. Sea. by Chris Vick (Head of Zeus)


2020 CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal shortlist:

You’re Snug with Me illustrated by Poonam Mistry and written by Chitra Soundar (Lantana Publishing)

The Iron Man illustrated by Chris Mould and written by Ted Hughes (Faber & Faber)

The Suitcase written and illustrated by Chris Naylor-Ballesteros (Nosy Crow)

The Undefeated illustrated by Kadir Nelson and written by Kwame Alexander (Andersen Press)

The Dam illustrated by Levi Pinfold and written by David Almond (Walker Books)

Mary and Frankenstein illustrated by Júlia Sardà and written by Linda Bailey (Andersen Press)

Tales from the Inner City written and illustrated by Shaun Tan (Walker Books)

Child of St Kilda written and illustrated by Beth Waters (Child’s Play)


Julia Hale, Chair, CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals judging panel:

“It’s a pleasure to present this dynamic and thought-provoking shortlist, which seems prescient of children and young people’s concerns today. Although each book is uniquely original, there are some commonalities that have emerged. Survival, the environment and the persisting inequalities and prejudices in our world today were themes that came through strongly. As a positive response to these challenges, the shortlists offer solace by displaying the awesome beauty of the natural world, human determination and courage, kindness and support which were frequent touchstones throughout these remarkable books.

We are so looking forward to sharing them with the shadowing groups across the UK and internationally as there is something here for every reader, to provoke much discussion and sheer reading enjoyment.”

Visit for further information on the shortlists and the history of the awards.

About the CILIP Carnegie & Kate Greenaway Awards and Shadowing Scheme

The CILIP Carnegie Medal is awarded annually to a children’s book author whose writing creates an outstanding reading experience. It was established in 1936 in memory of the Scottish-born philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie (1835–1919). The Kate Greenaway Medal, established in 1955, is named after the popular nineteenth-century artist, known for her beautiful children’s illustrations and designs. The Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded annually to a children’s book illustrator whose artwork creates an outstanding reading experience.

Each year thousands of reading groups in schools and libraries in the UK and overseas get involved in the Awards, with children and young people ‘shadowing’ the judging process. They read, discuss and review the books on the shortlists, get involved in reading-related activity in groups, and vote for their favourite books to win the Shadowers’ Choice Awards.