Film the House shortlists young creative talent

Competition aimed at finding the UK scriptwriters and filmmakers of tomorrow announces shortlist.

Film the House has announced the latest homegrown talent when it comes to up-and-coming filmmakers and scriptwriters. Sponsored by ALCS and run in collaboration with the UK Parliament, the annual film and scriptwriting competition for UK-based student and independent filmmakers is a fun and innovative way of highlighting the importance of intellectual property rights among creators, legislators and the general public.

This year’s competition receives parliamentary sponsorship from Lord Clement-Jones, Jo Stevens MP and Giles Watling MP. Categories include Best Script and Best Short Film, with both under and over 19 prizes, as well as Best Film Direction for under and over 19. An expert industry panel of leading figures from across Britain’s creative landscape chose the finalists.

The shortlists for this year’s competition are:


Directors UK Best Film Direction Under 19

Deserter Saul Bell-West

If Only Avenue Luke Allen Haughton

I’ll Be Back Tomorrow… Freya Hannan-Mills

Trigger Bang Issy Franklin


Directors UK Best Film Direction 19 and Over

Class 15 Dean Leon Anderson

White Gold Luke Bradford

22. Anna Matthews Ben Hector

51 States Cass Virdee


Best Film Script Under 19

Bottled Up Emotions Robert Ebner-Statt

Cowboy Night Martha Broadbent-Smith

Flames on Mir Bobby Donaldson

If you have been murdered please press 3 Charlotte Roberts

   Remember Freya Hannan-Mills


Best Film Script 19 and Over

A Reflection Laurie Barraclough

Get in the Groove Taiyo Yoshida

Solstice Jonny King

The Man at the Bottom of the Garden Paul Blinkhorn

Weather Permitting Steven Jeram


Best Short Film Under 19

Deserter Saul Bell-West

Jack Blake: Agent 38 Dom Witchalls

Remember Freya Hannan-Mills

The Wonderful World of Hedgehogs Dylan Allman

   Trigger Bang Issy Franklin



Best Short Film 19 and Over

Blue Corridor 15 Dubheasa Lanipekun

Can’t Kill Us All Botis Seva

Eyes Down Charlotte Daniel

Our Sister Rosie Westhoff

Your Hand Found Mine Alice Boorman


Prizes for the winners include:

Mentoring from industry screenwriting professionals

Certificate of classification by BBFC

Film the House Award trophy

A cash prize to help in the development of their next project

All shortlisted entrants will be invited to the Film the House Winners’ Ceremony at the House of Commons on 18 January 2021 where Helen Lederer, writer, comedian and actor, will compère the ceremony.

The Film the House competition enjoys widespread industry support and is proudly sponsored by ALCS, The Walt Disney Company, ViacomCBS, The Motion Picture Association, Directors UK, Netflix, Prime Video, and WarnerMedia.