Winners revealed at annual gala event celebrating best of British writing

Writers behind some of last year’s most critically acclaimed works were honoured at the 2020 Writers’ Guild Awards, which were sponsored by ALCS.

The Writers’ Guild of Great Britain (WGGB) announced the winners for its prestigious awards across 16 categories in film, television, radio, theatre, comedy, books and video games. Hosted by writer, comedian and actor Katy Brand, the awards honoured the cream of British writing talent, including Danny Brocklehurst, Shola Amoo, Season Butler, Gillian Juckes and Jimmy McGovern, in front of an audience from a wide range of creative industries.


Outstanding Contribution to Writing John Finnemore

Best Online Comedy Side Effects of the Pill by Hannah George and Tasha Dhanraj

Best Long Running TV Series Hollyoaks (Episode 5013) by Roanne Bardsley

Best Writing in a Video Game Over the Alps by Jon Ingold, Katharine Neil and Nick Bush

Best Children’s TV Episode Danger Mouse, Series 2, Episode 39, ‘Melted’ by Ciaran Murtagh & Andrew Barnett Jones

Best Radio Comedy Prepper by Caroline Moran & James J Moran

Best Long Form TV Drama Blood, Series 1, Episode 6 by Sophie Petzal

Best First Novel Cygnet by Season Butler

Best First Screenplay Only You by Harry Wootliff

Best Radio Drama Forest 404 by Timothy X Atack

Best Play for Young Audiences The Canary and the Crow by Daniel Ward

Best Play Wolfie by Ross Willis

Best Screenplay The Last Tree by Shola Amoo

Best TV Situation Comedy Brassic by Danny Brocklehurst

Best Short Form TV Drama Care by Gillian Juckes and Jimmy McGovern

Best Musical Theatre Bookwriting In The Willows – The Hip Hop Musical by Poppy Burton-Morgan

Host Katy Brand said of the event: ‘I am thrilled to have hosted the WGGB Awards 2020 this evening, not least because it means I spent an evening with the best writers in the world without having to worry about winning anything myself. I just enjoyed the immense throb of talent in the room, and hopefully helped make the evening entertaining, inclusive, and a celebration of all the outstanding work of the past year – congratulations to all the deserved brilliant winners.’

WGGB President Sandi Toksvig OBE said: ‘Congratulations to all the Writers’ Guild Awards 2020 winners, it’s a sheer joy just to be in a room amongst such wonderful writers. These ridiculously talented people have kept us entertained throughout the year with their brilliant writing, they have brought us much needed tonic during these challenging times, and we have been spoilt rotten by their wonderful creations!’

About the Writers’ Guild Awards

The lead sponsor of the 2020 Writers’ Guild Awards was ALCS. Other sponsors were BBC, ITV, Company Pictures, Nick Hern Books and Script Angel. The Writers’ Guild Awards, which launched in 1961, give professional writers from across Great Britain the opportunity to honour their peers, and celebrate the importance of writing to the creative industries, both nationally and abroad. They also recognise the importance of the WGGB’s work in preserving freedom of speech. The 2020 Awards eligibility criteria was work broadcast, performed or released between 01 October 2018 and 29 September 2019. Full information about the awards, including a short history plus a full archive of previous winners, can be found here.

About the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain (WGGB)

The Writers’ Guild of Great Britain (WGGB) is a trade union representing writers for TV, film, theatre, radio, books, poetry, comedy, animation and videogames. It negotiates national agreements on pay and conditions with key industry bodies, including BBC, ITV and Pact; the Royal Court, National Theatre and Royal Shakespeare Company. It campaigns and lobbies on behalf of writers and offers a range of benefits to its members, including free contract vetting, support and advice; events and discounts; free training; a weekly ebulletin; a pension scheme and welfare fund.

Photographs © Matt Writtle