Parliamentary film competition open for entries

Film the House 2020 has now launched. If you’re a UK-based student or independent scriptwriter, director or filmmaker, this parliamentary film competition could be for you.

Celebrating the UK’s brightest future film-making talent, Film the House also provides a means for the UK creative industries to communicate the importance of intellectual property (IP) rights. ALCS is proud to be co-sponsor of a competition that enables Parliamentarians to highlight creativity and IP, and constituents across the country to interact with their local MP, perhaps for the first time. The other sponsors of Film the House include Directors UK, Motion Picture Association (MPA), Netflix, Viacom, the Walt Disney Company and Warner Bros Entertainment.

Entrants have until 16 November 2020 to submit their work and are reminded that there is no specific time frame in which you have to have made your film in order for it to be eligible. All entries are shared with your local MP and the final judging of the competition is carried out by industry professionals.

The categories include:

  • Best Film Script (Under 19 years/19 years and over)
  • Directors UK Best Film Direction (Under 19 years/19 years and over)
  • Best Short Film (Under 19 years/19 years and over)

The Parliamentary sponsors of the competition are Tracy Brabin MP (Shadow Minister for Cultural Industries), Lord Tim Clement-Jones (Vice-Chair of the All Party Parliamentary Intellectual Property Group) and Giles Watling MP (Chair of the All Party Parliamentary Writers Group).

Supporters of the competition include Alliance for IP, Association of Authors’ Agents, British Board of Film Classification (BBFC), British Copyright Council (BCC), British Film Institute (BFI), British Screen Forum, Copyright Licensing Agency (CLA), Creative Industries Federation, Educational Recording Agency (ERA), Intellectual Property Organisation (IPO), the Society of Authors and the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain.

Visit to find out more and to enter.